



Publications Committee

Michael Bazzo Kirsten Birkedal Shea Yoginee Braslaw Charlotte Butt Alexandra Fong Candice Garcia-Rodrigo Christy Glass Donna Hecht

Sanjit Kaur Robyn Lewis Richard Reed Donna Thierbach Bruce Todd Jamie Wrage Lisa Yang

Editor J	acqueline Carey-Wilson
Design and Production	PIP Printing Riverside
Cover Design	PIP Printing Riverside

Officers of the Bar Association

President

Harry J. Histen, III (951) 682-4121 harry@histenlaw.com

Vice President Robyn A. Lewis

(951) 686-682-0488 rlewislaw@yahoo.com Secretary

Jacqueline Carey-Wilson (909) 387-4334 jcareywilson@cc.sbcounty.gov President-Flect

Harlan B. Kistler (951) 686-8848 hbkistler@pacbell.net

Chief Financial Officer Christopher B. Harmon (951) 787-6800 christopherbharmon@sbcglobal.net

Past President E. Aurora Hughes

(909) 630-3643 eaurorahughes@aol.com

Directors-at-Large

Chad W. Firetag (951) 682-9311 firetag@yahoo.com James J. Manning, Jr. (951) 682-1771 jmanning@rhlaw.com

Timothy J. Hollenhorst (951) 955-5400 thollenhorst@rivcoda.org Randall S. Stamen (951) 787-9788 rss@stamenlaw.com

Executive Director

Charlene Nelson (951) 682-1015 charlene@riversidecountybar.com

Officers of the Barristers Association

President David M. Cantrell (951) 788-9410

dcantrell@lcl-law.com

Vice President Kirsten Birkedal Shea

Jean-Simon Serrano

Treasurer David S. Lee, Jr.

Members-at-Large Jeffrey A. Boyd Brian T. Pedigo

Riverside County Bar Association 4129 Main Street, Suite 100 Riverside, California 9250 I

Telephone 951-682-1015

Facsimile 951-682-0106

Internet www.riversidecountybar.com

E-mail rcba@riversidecountybar.com

VERSIDE YAW

Columns:

3 President's Message by Harry J. Histen, III

COVER STORIES:

11Welcome to Our Noble Profession by Terry Bridges 12Deposition Etiquette by Robyn A. Lewis and E. Aurora Hughes 17Law and Motion 101 by Commissioner Paulette Durand Barkley 19Managing a Small Law Firm by Robyn A. Lewis

22 Tips for New Admittees on Court Appearances by E. Aurora Hughes

Features:

62010 Riverside County Mock Trial Competition **Needs Scoring Attorneys** by L. Alexandra Fong

9 In Memoriam: Kurt E. Yaeger by Kirsten Birkedal Shea 25 Leo A. Deegan Inn of Court by Robyn A. Lewis 26 Inland Empire Resurrects Its Women Lawyers Group

Departments:

Classified Ads 28

Leo A. Deegan Inn of Court

by Robyn A. Lewis

The 2008-2009 program year for the Leo A. Deegan Inn of Court was an exciting one. Under the leadership of its President, the Honorable Stephen Larson, the Inn focused on various aspects of trial, with each team assigned to present a program on a different aspect of trial preparation and mechanics. The Inn was also proud to participate in the programs held for the female attorneys from Afghanistan when they came to Riverside in January of 2009.

The Leo A. Deegan Inn of Court is a professional organization, comprised of attorneys and judicial officers, which is organized under the American Inns of Court. The organization focuses on improving the skills and professionalism of the bench and the bar. Each month, the members get together at a dinner meeting, during which programs are held that focus on matters of ethics, skills and professionalism. Membership is by invitation only. Applications for membership are considered each summer and result in invitations for new membership for the upcoming year.

The Inn was named for the Honorable Leo A. Deegan, a legend of the Riverside legal community. Judge Deegan first began practicing in Riverside in 1946 as a member of the district attorney's office. After also serving in the county counsel's office, he became the City Attorney for Riverside in 1958. He was appointed to the bench by Governor Edmund Brown in 1959. He served on the superior court until his retirement in 1975. In the late 1980's, he served for 14 months on the Court of Appeal for the Third Appellate District in Sacramento.

Each year, the Leo A. Deegan Inn of Court recognizes both an attorney and a judicial officer for their outstanding contributions to the legal community as well as for their professional accomplishments. The 2008-2009 recipient of the Terry A. Bridges Outstanding Attorney Award was John Porter, a partner in the law firm of Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith. Mr. Porter's career, which has spanned over 30 years, has focused on the defense of police officers and police departments against allegations of false arrest, false imprisonment, civil rights violations, excessive force, and other police misconduct.

The Inn bestowed the Elwood Rich Outstanding Jurist of the Year Award on the Honorable Richard Fields, particularly for his accomplishments as presiding judge in Riverside during what has been truly a crisis. In addition to sitting as presiding judge from January of 2007 until January of 2009, Judge Fields has presided as a Riverside Superior Court judge and commissioner for over 15 years. Additionally, he served as chair of the court's Drug Court Oversight Committee and as a drug court judge.

The Inn's membership votes annually on its favorite presentation, and an award is given to that team. The 2008-2009

award for best Team Presentation went to Team Marshall, named after Jack Marshall of Thompson & Colegate, for its presentation on mediation. Team members included the Honorable Oswald Parada, Randy Stamen, Neil Okazaki, Jeremy Hanson, Audrey Owens, Sharon Hodges, Chris Oliver and Tarek Shawky.

This year, the Inn is focusing on exploring controversial topics, such as jury nullification and attorney fees. The Inn is headed by President Jeff Van Wagenen, with the Honorable David Bristow, Jeb Brown, Chris Harmon, Robyn Lewis, Chris Oliver, Chad Firetag, and John Michels serving as Executive Board members.

The Inn is excited to have students from the University of La Verne School of Law participating as team members this year. The students were selected by Dean Allen Easley. This is the first time that the Inn has extended invitations to student members.

For more information on the Leo A. Deegan Inn of Court, please contact Sherri Gomez, Executive Director, at sherri. gomez@gmail.com or Robyn Lewis at rlewislaw@yahoo.com.

Robyn A. Lewis is with J. Lewis & Associates, APLC. She is Vice President of the Riverside County Bar Association and Vice President of the Leo A. Deegan Inn of Court.



Jeff Van Wagenen



Team Marshall – Audrey Owens (holding award), Randy Stamen, Jeremy Hanson, Chris Oliver, Tarek Shawky



Riverside County Bar Association

4129 Main St., Ste. 100, Riverside, CA 92501 RCBA 951-682-1015 LRS 951-682-7520 www.riversidecountybar.com rcba@riversidecountybar.com

PRSRT STD US POSTAGE PAID

PERMIT #1054 RIVERSIDE, CA

