Deegan Inn of Court

Riverside, CA


The Biddle Book Award is given to an outstanding attorney who exemplifies the goals of the Inn and for his or her professionalism and dedication to the legal community. The award is in memory of Louise Biddle, former executive director of the Inn and the Riverside County Bar Association. 

The Board of Directors of the Leo A. Deegan Inn of Court determines the recipient of this award. The award recipient is required to be a current member of the Leo A. Deegan Inn of Court. The award recipient receives a book, chosen by the Inn’s President.

This award was first presented in the 2005-2006 program year.  This award is presented at the last Inn meeting of each program year, which is typically held in May.

2005-2006:  Robyn A. Lewis,  The Law Offices of Harlan B. Kistler

2006-2007:  Jenna Acuff, Reid & Hellyer

2007-2008:  Kirsten Birkedal, Thompson & Colegate LLP and M. Douglas Flahaut, judicial law clerk to U.S. Bankruptcy Judges Peter H. Carroll and Robert N. Kwan of the United States Bankruptcy Court for the Central District of California

2008-2009: Nicholas Firetag, Gresham Savage Nolan & Tilden

2009-2010:  Jeffrey A. Boyd, Heiting & Irwin and Charity Schiller, Best Best & Krieger LLP

2010-2011:  Ben Eilenberg, Gresham Savage Nolan & Tilden

2011-2012:  L. Alexandra Fong, Riverside County Counsel's Office

2012-2013:  Sophia Choi, Riverside County Counsel's Office and Sylvia Choi, Riverside County District Attorney's Office

2013-2014:  Christopher Marin, Law Offices of Christopher Marin

2014-2015:  Keith Fredric Willis, Orrock Popka Tucker & Dolen

2015-2016:  Andrew Salera, Riverside County Public Defender's Office

2016-2017:  Joshlyn Pulliam, Riverside County District Attorney's Office

2017-2018:  Aaron Chandler, Riverside City Attorney's Office, and Megan Demshki, Aitken Aitken Cohn

2018-2019: Laurie Burns, Juvenile Defense Panel, and Goushia Farook, The Law Offices of Shauna M. Albright


The fiscal year for the Deegan Inn of Court is July 1 to June 30.

For additional Information about the American Inns of Court, please visit their website at

"American Inns of Court" and the crest are service marks of the American Inns of Court Foundation.