Deegan Inn of Court

Riverside, CA

September 26, 2018 Orientation Meeting

On September 26, 2018, President L. Alexandra Fong welcomed the new members of the Leo A. Deegan Inn of Court (“Deegan Inn”) at the New Member Orientation, held at 5:45 p.m.. The Attorney Masters of the Deegan Inn met and voted to approve the amended bylaws at 6:00 p.m.

The orientation began at approximately 6:20 p.m. where all members of the Deegan Inn were welcomed. Ms. Fong began the orientation by announcing the Board’s decision to honor two past members and founders of the Deegan Inn with Emeritus Status - The Honorable Robert J. Timlin was posthumously awarded this honor. Mrs. Caroline Timlin, Judge Timlin’s widow, was present to accept this honor.

Guest speaker and founding member, Stanley Orrock, was also awarded this honor. Mr. Orrock spoke about the founding of the Deegan Inn, including Judge TImlin’s legacy in its creation and the ideals of the American Inns of Court. After this rousing speech, Ms. Fong discussed the Welcome Packet that each member of the Deegan Inn received, providing them with information about the Deegan Inn and the American Inns of Court.

Ms. Fong announced the winner of the Hon. Douglas E. Weathers Honorary Member Award - Hon. Meredith Jury, U.S. Bankruptcy Judge (Retired). Judge Jury accepted the award and advised the members that she wanted to be active in the Inn.

Ms. Fong announced the best team presentation winner - Team John Morton - for their presentation on Combating Human Trafficking:  The Human and Legal Dimensions of the Crisis. Team Morton is comprised of Judicial Master Sherri Pym, Judicial Master Jennifer Gerard, Attorney Master Marlene Allen, Attorney Master Yoginee Braslaw, Attorney Master Abram Feuerstein, Attorney Master Nicholas Firetag, Attorney Master L. Alexandra Fong, Barrister Kelly Moran, Barrister Dani Mouri, and Associate Rebecca McKee.

Ms. Fong announced the theme for the year - fairytales - and the team names - writers who are also attorneys.

The judicial masters of each team gathered to pick their team name, fairytale, and presentation date. They are identified as follows:

  • Team Henry Fielding, led by the Hon. Randall Stamen, presents on Rapunzel (Brothers Grimm) on October 24, 2018.

  • Team John Mortimer, led by Hon. Kenneth Fernandez, presents on Little Red Riding Hood (Charles Perrault) on December 5, 2018.

  • Team Erle Stanley Gardner, led by Hon. Jacqueline Jackson, presents on Cinderella (Brothers Grimm) on January 23, 2019.

  • Team Washington Irving, led by Hon. Irma Asberry, presents on Jack and the Beanstalk (Joseph Jacobs) on March 27, 2019.

  • Team Franz Kafka, led by Hon. Bambi Moyer and Hon. Meredith Jury, presents on Snow White (Brothers Grimm) on April 24, 2019.

  • Team Louis Auchincloss, led by Hon. Dorothy McLaughlin and Hon. Jennifer Gerard, presents on their community service project on May 22, 2019.

Deegan Inn members were reminded to meet with their teams at least once a month, before and after their team presents.

The meeting adjourned at approximately 7:15 p.m.